Make your own free website on
Home | History | Members List | Upcoming Events | Club Photo Album | Related Links | Contact Us
Alpha Sigma Tau



On November 4, 1899, eight college women from Michigan State Normal College (now Eastern Michigan University) formed the Alpha Sigma Tau Sorority in Ypsilanti, Michigan.  Those founders are Helene Rice, Adriance Rice, Eva O'Keefe, Harriet Marx, May Gephart, Mayene Tracy, Mable Chase and Ruth Dutcher.  These eight women inspired a love and dedication to the Sorority, a torch that has been passed through the years.

Our Creed

As a member of Alpha Sigma Tau, I believe in the permanence and loveliness of its ideals. I believe in the values of friendship and fidelity to purpose. I believe in the fulfillment of self and will strive to contribute my share to the progress of mankind. I believe in cultivating beauty of spirit and graciousness of living in all my contacts with others. I believe that faithfulness to these ideals will help me to live joyously and valiantly.

Facts about AST

Founded at Michigan State Normal College in Ypsilanti, Michigan in 1899
Colors:  Emerald and Gold
Flower:  Yellow Rose


Upsilon Chapter